教育理念

“每個人都從孩童時開始塑造人生,尤其是人生頭兩年。``

瑪麗亞•蒙特梭利博士

蒙特梭利教育法的理念:在孩子每個成長階段,只有提供給他們一個可以滿足其內在需求的環境,孩子才能夠充分發揮自己真正的潛力。

嬰孩期的幼兒處於一個特別的發展階段。我們發現在這個幼嫩的成長階段,孩子的工作習慣、集中力、獨立性、思考能力和解決問題能力是以驚人速度建立的。

我們的課程為孩子提供以下四個領域的支持:

1. 體能及動作協調

我們依照以下原則,幫助孩子發展:

  • 預備環境
  • 提供活動機會
  • 提供充足的空間和時間發展活動機會

“日常生活”為孩子提供一系列鍛煉手部肌肉、手眼協調及需要遵循步驟完成的活動,比如抓握、轉動、捲揉、繫鈕扣等等工作,逐漸訓練孩子的手部小肌肉,為日後寫字做準備。

孩子有很多機會在教室裡有目的地走動和探索。工作期間,大肌肉能力能夠得以培養和加強,比如平衡托盤中的物件,來回搬運稍大稍重的工作和教具等。另外,通過反複的工作,可以提高孩子的學習水平和自我要求,使他們的專注力更持久,養成好的工作習慣,成為一個喜愛學習的人。

2. 語言

在幼兒學前班,我們通過以下原則來幫助孩子發展語言技能:

  • 準備一個語言豐富的環境
  • 通過聽說讀的方式讓孩子融入環境
  • 通過聽說讀的方式讓孩子融入吸收和練習語言

蒙特梭利博士在「吸收式心智」中寫道:“大約一年半的時間裡,這個孩子發現了另一個事實,那就是每個事物都有自己的名字。”嬰幼兒在口語中對詞彙和交流的渴求程度遠遠超過其它發展階段。語言習得是嬰幼兒時期的一個關鍵階段,孩子們被不同的聲音所吸引,並儘其所能地模仿聲音說話。

隨著他們的語言技能更佳熟練,嬰幼兒開始用語言來解讀周圍的世界,提出問題並詢問所遇到的一切事物的名字。正是在這段時期,蒙特梭利的課堂環境為他們提供了具體而準確的詞彙,展現禮儀禮貌和尊重他人的交流方式,通過有指導性的選擇促進孩子的獨立性,指引孩子們進行建設性的活動。

3. 獨立:“幫助我自己做”

通過蒙特梭利的工作,嬰幼兒學會不同技能、建立自信、形成“我能做到”的態度。在課堂上,我們用三個關鍵原則來支持孩子漸漸獨立:

  • 提供幼兒使用的放慢速度和用於工作的教具,而不是玩具
  • 將活動分成小步驟讓幼兒觀看和模仿
  • 為幼兒提供機會為自己做事,反覆練習,掌握新技能

獨立是自己為自己做事情的能力,幼兒通過做有目的和有意義的工作變得獨立。他們做簡單的日常活動,便開始了解慣例和自己的能力。我們在合適的時間提供選擇,只有在需要幫助時才提供幫助。當我們放慢速度,適應孩子的節奏時,他們便有足夠的時間練習技能,做事就變得獨立且有信心。

4. 內在秩序

我們創造了一個環境讓孩子有機會參與日常家務,並且允許他們從錯誤中學習,這樣他們在家中便可以幫忙。孩子受到鼓勵做自己喜歡的事情時,他們就更有動力去做。

我們通過以下關鍵原則協助和支持孩子產生對秩序的渴求:

  • 創造有序的環境,培養自律
  • 讓孩子融入環境
  • 尊重孩子按自己的節奏工作

在課堂上,當慣例可以預測,教師對學生的期望保持連貫,孩子就可以自由地做出選擇,做自己喜歡的工作。如果孩子從小就得到內在秩序的培養,以後就會對慣例感到舒適和自信。

Philosophy

“All that we ourselves are has been made by the child, by the child we were in the first two years of our lives.``

Dr. Maria Montessori

The Montessori Method is founded on the belief that children are capable of learning and reaching their true potential in an environment where their inner needs are met at each stage of their development.

The toddler years are a time of astounding development. We recognize this formative period when work habits, concentration, independence, thinking, and problem solving are rapidly being established.

Our curriculum supports the child’s sensitive periods, needs, and tendencies at their respective stages of development:

1. Movement

We assist the child’s optimum development by following these principles

  • Prepare the environment
  • Provide movement opportunities
  • Make time for movement

In the Toddler environment, Practical Life activities offer the child a wide range of materials which require sequential or step-by-step movements, hand and finger grip, hand-eye coordination, and dexterity. This type of work gradually isolates the three fingers used in the pincer grip when grasping, twisting, rolling, buttoning, closing and releasing, and so forth, which will eventually lead children to refine their pencil grip when they are ready.

Children are also offered numerous opportunities to purposefully move around the room and explore. During work time, their gross motor skills are strengthened and developed through carrying and balancing the contents in the tray, moving slightly oversized objects from the shelf to the work space and back. All these activities offer intrinsic motivation to work repeatedly with materials and build the sense of accomplishment that encourages longer periods of concentration and attentiveness.

2. Language

In the toddler class, we assist the child’s development of language skills by following these principles:

  • Prepare a language-rich environment
  • Connect the child with the environment through speaking, listening, and reading
  • Allow the child to absorb and practice language through speaking, listening, and reading

In The Absorbent Mind, Dr. Montessori wrote, “At about a year and a half, the child discovers another fact, and that is that each thing has its own name”. The toddler participates in spoken language with a thirst for vocabulary and communication that is unequalled at any other period of development. The acquisition of language is a crucial phase in the toddler years. Children are fascinated by different sounds and try their best to replicate the sounds to make words.

As their language skills become more refined, toddlers begin to use language to decode the world around them, asking questions and inquiring about the names of everything they encounter. It is during this time that the Montessori classroom environment provides them with specific, accurate vocabulary and the modeling of Grace and Courtesy skills and respectful communication, with directed choices promoting the child’s own individuality while guiding them towards constructive activities.

3. Independence: “Help me do it myself``

Through Montessori work, the toddler gains skills, confidence, and an “I can do it” attitude. In the classroom, we support the child’s path to independence with three key principles:

  • Provide an accessible environment with child sized furniture, real workable materials (not toys)
  • Break down the activities into small steps for the child to watch and imitate
  • Provide opportunities for children to do things for themselves, working repeatedly towards mastery of new skills

Independence is the ability to do things for ourselves. Toddlers become independent through purposeful and meaningful work. By working on simple daily activities, they begin to understand routines, their own abilities, and their place at school and at home. We offer choices at the right times and lend a hand only when help is needed. When we slow down to match the children’s pace, allowing plenty of time for them to practice their skills, their path to independence is supported. In time, they gain the ability and confidence to do things independently.

4. Internal Order

We create an environment with opportunities for the child to become involved in everyday chores and to be helpful in simple ways. The child is motivated to work because he is encouraged to do what he enjoys, while allowing space to make mistakes and learn from them.

We assist and support the child’s sense of order using these key principles:

  • Create an orderly environment that fosters self-discipline
  • Connect the child to the environment
  • Respect the time a child needs to work at their own pace

In the classroom, we keep routines predictable, expectations consistent, and the children enjoy the freedom to make choices and do work they enjoy. When children develop a routine from the time they are young, they will feel comfortable, capable, and they will start to develop a sense of internal order as they grow.